Globe Icon
Join and support LGBT+ journalism


and support
LGBT+ journalism

The PinkNews Awards honoured our 2020 heroes, and celebrated moments of unprecedented LGBT+ achievements, as well as PinkNews’ 15th birthday. Have a look at the nominees and winners below, as well as all the celebrities, politicians, activists and influencers who joined us in celebration of the LGBT+ community!


If you’re interested in partnering with us or self-nominating for the PinkNews Awards 2021, please contact [email protected]

The PinkNews Awards is in association with

Award nominees

NEW: Young Adult Book of the Year

  • Clap When You Land
  • WINNER: I Wish You All The Best
  • Middle School's a Drag, You Better Werk!
  • Wonderland
  • You Should See Me in a Crown

Amazon and Just Like Us

See more details

Frontline Hero

  • WINNER: Dr Rachel Levine
  • WINNER: Dr Kamilla Kamaruddin

Broadcast/ Documentary

  • WINNER: Disclosure, Netflix
  • Our Baby, A Modern Miracle, Channel 4
  • Welcome to Chechnya
  • Two Twos
  • Food 4 Thot
See more details

Influencer of the Year

  • Matt & Omar
  • Monty & Sebb
  • Makeuupbyjack
  • WINNER: Florence Given
  • Team2Moms
See more details


  • RuPaul's Drag Race UK, BBC
  • Dancing on Ice, ITV
  • Hollyoaks, Channel 4
  • The Politician, Netflix
  • Schitt's Creek, CBC
  • WINNER: Sex Education, Netflix
See more details

Politician of the Year

  • Mhairi Black
  • WINNER: Nadia Whittome
  • Crispin Blunt
  • WINNER: Layla Moran
  • Michael Cashman
See more details

Advertising Campaign

  • Starbucks
  • Durex
  • HSBC
  • WINNER: Global Pride Crossing
  • Deliveroo
  • Calvin Klein
See more details

Film of the Year

  • WINNER: Dating Amber
  • Stage Mother
  • The Half of It
  • The Boys in the Band
  • Portrait of a Lady on Fire
See more details

Role Model

  • Al Skilton
  • WINNER: Annie Newman
  • Brishan Turner
  • Jessica Blackler
  • Matt Brown
See more details

Business Equality

  • WINNER: Boston Consulting Group
  • Gilead Sciences
  • Herbert Smith Freehills
  • Latham & Watkins
  • Simmons & Simmons
See more details

Public Sector Equality

  • WINNER: De Montfort University
  • Intellectual Property Office
  • Nottingham City Council
  • Rhondda Cynon Taf Council
  • The University of Manchester
See more details

Community Group

  • akt
  • Bi Pride UK
  • Courageous Leaders
  • WINNER: LGBT Foundation
  • Mermaids
See more details

Third Sector Equality

  • Marie Curie
  • St Mungo's
  • WINNER: Victim Support
  • Wellcome Trust
  • Young Vic
See more details

Uber Eats LGBT+ Friend of the Year

  • Samantha Howard
  • Meg McGrady
  • Ciaran Frame

Uber Eats

See more details

The Winners

Frontline Hero

Dr Rachel Levine and Dr Kamilla Kamaruddin

Business Equality

Boston Consulting Group

Public Sector Equality

De Montfort University

Third Sector Equality

Victim Support

Community Group

LGBT Foundation

Role Model

Annie Newman

Film Award

Dating Amber

Campaigner of the Year

Melz Owusu

Advertising Campaign

Global Pride Crossing

Politician of the Year

Layla Moran and Nadia Whittome

Television Award

Sex Education

Influencer of the Year

Florence Given

Broadcast or Documentary Award


Young Adult Book of the Year

I Wish You All the Best

See more details

Messages for the LGBT+ Community

Mayor of London

Sadiq Khan

Labour Leader

Keir Starmer

Former Prime Minister and Conservative MP

Theresa May


Alexander Leon


Writer and campaigner

Char Bailey


Professional coach

Ruby Rare


Author and sex educator

Stephan Kyriacou


Production and Editorial Assistant, PinkNews

Geff Parsons


Managing Director, Macquarie

Amy Ashenden


Head of Comms and Media, Just Like Us

Daisy Reeves


Partner, Bryan Cave Leighton Paisner

PinkNews Awards is raising vital funds for

With special thanks to our partners

Close icon