Entertainment

E3 2021 schedule: what’s happening and what can we expect at this year’s all-digital games show

Ed Nightingale June 10, 2021
bookmarking iconBookmark Article
E3

Breath of the Wild 2 / Halo Infinite. (Nintendo / Xbox)

What is E3, you ask? Well, to put it bluntly, it is like Christmas for gamers and the E3 2021 schedule is hotly-anticipated.

Taking place every June since 1995 (except last year), it’s a trade show convention where all the big video game companies reveal their plans for the future.

That means new games, new peripherals, and sometimes even new consoles.

Over the years other conventions and awards shows have popped up where developers and publishers will drop reveals. And after Nintendo began their Direct video events in 2013 for any big announcements, other companies have followed suit with video presentations aimed at the public as well as the industry.

That sets the stage for this year’s event, which is all-digital. After E3 was cancelled in 2020 due to the global pandemic, this year it’s back with most (but not all – Sony especially) of the big companies preparing video presentations.

So when are each of those presentations? And what can we expect? Here’s a run down of the E3 2021 schedule.

E3 2021 takes place from the 12 – 15 June. There are a number of presentations occurring, but below are the major ones to look out for. They can be watched on the E3 Twitch or YouTube channels, or the company channels.

Guerilla Collective & Wholesome Direct – 12 June

UK: 4pm / 6pm (BST)

Europe: 5pm / 7pm (CEST)

East Coast US: 11am / 1pm (EDT)

West Coast US: 8am / 10am (PDT)

Happening just before the main event are two independent presentations. Guerilla Collective will focus on indie titles, while the Wholesome Direct focuses on uplifting and cosy games as opposed to the dark and grim games that are considered more “serious” at the main events.

Ubisoft – 12 June

UK: 8pm (BST)

Europe: 9pm (CEST)

East Coast US: 3pm (EDT)

West Coast US: 12pm (PDT)

The first of the big publishers on the E3 2021 schedule is Ubisoft. The main focus will be Far Cry 6, previously revealed with its own video stream, but we can also expect details on Rainbow Six Siege and Assassins Creed: Valhalla DLC. Rainbow Six Extraction, a new co-op shooter, should be revealed in full and perhaps, maybe, we’ll finally see more of Beyond Good and Evil 2?

Xbox and Bethesda Games Showcase – 13 June

UK: 6pm (BST)

Europe: 7pm (CEST)

East Coast US: 1pm (EDT)

West Coast US: 10am (PDT)

After last year’s gameplay reveal of Halo Infinite that was heavily criticised and saw the game pushed back an entire year, expect it to be front and centre of Xbox’s E3 showcase. The new console is in need of a must-have exclusive to compete with PlayStation and Halo Infinite certainly fits the bill.

In addition we will hopefully get a look at the previously announced Psychonauts 2, Fable, Perfect Dark, and the next Forza Motorsport. Plus an update on Microsoft Flight Simulator.

Of course, Xbox just spent a pretty penny on Bethesda, and while Elder Scrolls 6 is a long way off still, we might finally get a look at the much-anticipated sci-fi RPG Starfield.

Square Enix Presents – 13 June

UK: 8.15pm (BST)

Europe: 9.15pm (CEST)

East Coast US: 3.15pm (EDT)

West Coast US: 12.15pm (PDT)

Square Enix have stated their E3 2021 presentation will include the world premiere of a new game from Eidos-Montréal; an update on action RPG BABYLON’S FALL from Platinum Games; details on the Black Panther expansion of Marvel’s Avengers; and a deep dive into Life is Strange: True Colors, the forthcoming new game in the series featuring a bisexual lead.

As for Final Fantasy XVI or Final Fantasy VII Remake Part 2, expect these to be saved for a PlayStation event in the future.

Life is Strange: True Colors
Life Is Strange: True Colors. (Square Enix)

PC Gaming Show 2021 – 13 June

UK: 10:30pm (BST)

Europe: 11:30pm (CEST)

East Coast US: 5:30pm (EDT)

West Coast US: 2:30pm (PDT)

As the name suggests, this is a focus on forthcoming PC titles. It’s slated to include zombie survival game Dying Light 2 Stay Human, a major announcement on strategy game Humankind, details on Chivalry 2, and more. Plus an announcement from Valve on Steam Next Fest. Watch on Twitch or YouTube.

Capcom Showcase – 14 June

UK: 10:30pm (BST)

Europe: 11:30pm (CEST)

East Coast US: 5:30pm (EDT)

West Coast US: 2:30pm (PDT)

Four games from Capcom have been confirmed for the E3 2021 schedule so far: Monster Hunter Stories 2, Monster Hunter Rise, The Great Ace Attorney Chronicles and Resident Evil Village. On the latter, perhaps we’ll see some wonderfully campy DLC?

Monster Hunter Rise
Monster Hunter Rise. (Capcom, Nintendo)

Nintendo Direct – 15 June

UK: 5pm (BST)

Europe: 6pm (CEST)

East Coast US: 10pm (EDT)

West Coast US: 9am (PDT)

There have been plenty of rumours flying around about a new Switch console, but the 40 minute Nintendo E3 showcase will be exclusively on games. For sure that means Mario Golf that’s due out on 25 June, plus a whole host of indies. But will we finally see more of Breath of the Wild 2? Metroid Prime 4? Bayonetta 3? We can but hope.

The Direct will be followed up by another Nintendo Treehouse Live event for a closer look at the games revealed.

Bandai Namco – 15 June

UK: 10:25pm (BST)

Europe: 11:25pm (CEST)

East Coast US: 5:25pm (EDT)

West Coast US: 2:25pm (PDT)

JRPG Tales of Arise and action game Scarlet Nexus are both due out this year (September and June respectively), so expect an update on those this E3. But what do we really want? Elden Ring, the new game from Dark Souls devs From Software and Game of Thrones writer George.R.R.Martin. There have been a number of leaked videos recently, so maybe – at last – we’ll finally get an official gameplay reveal?

If there are any changes to the E3 2021 schedule, we will update them here.

For more gaming news, follow Gaymeo on Facebook. You can also email us with any news or tips on [email protected]

 

Related topics: gaming, playstation, Xbox

Swipe sideways to view more posts!

Dismiss

Loading ...