‘King of the transphobes’ Graham Linehan is dominating the nominations for Channel 4’s D*ck of the Year

Vic Parsons December 11, 2019
bookmarking iconSAVE FOR LATER
Graham Linehan

Graham Linehan at the 2014 BAFTAs. (Eamonn McCormack/WireImage)

British comedy show The Last Leg has been presenting a mock prize to the ‘Dick of the Year’ since 2014 – and this year’s hot contender is none other than the darling of “gender-critical feminism”, Graham Linehan himself.

The Irish comedy writer, who rose to public consciousness in the 90s for being a co-writer on Father Ted, is now more well-known for his self-appointed role at the forefront of the “gender-critical feminism” movement.

Linehan’s popularity among “gender-critical feminists” stems from his frequent “anti-trans” tweets, and his efforts last year to block National Lottery funding to trans kids charity, Mermaids.

Now, finally, this brave “Twitter warrior” – who stands firm against the trans community, which it bears emphasising makes up an intimidating one percent of the UK population – is being recognised for his vital services to feminism.

“I’d like to throw my nomination in for Graham Lineham, the colossal weener who attempted to defund a children’s charity but ended up inadvertently raising £350k for it. The king of the transphobes. The golden turd goblin, himself,” one Twitter user wrote.

Previous ‘D*ck of The Year’ winners on Channel 4’s The Last Leg include Donald Trump, Vladimir Putin (who won the inaugural 2013 prize) and Katie Hopkins (who won the 2014 competition, but was not awarded the prize after the team making the show decided she would enjoy receiving it – instead, they gave it to the person with the second-highest number of votes: Nigel Farage).

Other previous winners, whose ranks Linehan will hopefully soon by joining, include Jacob Rees-Mogg – who won in 2018 and is also being heavily nominated this year for his comments insulting the people who died in the Grenfell Tower fire – Piers Morgan (second place in 2018), Harvey Weinstein (awarded the ‘Steaming Turd’ prize in 2017) and former health secretary Jeremy Hunt (2015’s winner).

Scott Morrison, the Australian prime minister, is also receiving a high volume of nominations for his refusal to address the link between climate change and the unprecedented bushfires in Australia.

Somewhat surprisingly, considering who Linehan thinks he fights the good fight for, many of the people nominating him for ‘D*ck of the Year’ appear to be women.

The Last Leg is on Channel 4 every Friday, hosted by comedians Josh Widdicombe, Alex Brooker and Adam Hills. Nominees for this 2019’s will be announced on Friday, 13 December.

PinkNews has reached out to Graham Linehan for comment.

More: channel 4, graham linehan, The Last Leg

Swipe sideways to view more posts!


Loading ...