Instagram now tells people if you screenshot their stories
The latest Instagram update comes with some horrifying news: people get alerts if you screenshot their Story.
Born on Snapchat, the idea of a story is that you can share a post but it will expire after 24 hours – making it a great way to share the photos that don’t quite feed on your ‘gram feed.
Up until the most recent update, you could take screenshots of people’s stories and they wouldn’t know.
Whether you had to capture your ex’s antics to roast in your group chat or save a shot of your childhood friends new kicks that you adore, the screenshot function was used by many.
Now, if you try and take a screenshot the app will give you one free pass as a pop-up message appears letting you know that the next time you screenshot that user, they will be notified.
“Next time you take a screenshot or screen recording, the person who posted the story will be able to see,” it reads.
More from PinkNews
After you’ve used your free pass, people will begin to be notified if you’re screenshotting their stories.
They will see a sunburst symbol next to your name in the list of viewers.
Although it’s time-consuming, there is a way to get around the new update for you serial Instagram stalkers.
Firstly, you can load the story but before clicking on it you can turn your phone on aeroplane mode.
You can also now watch Instagram stories on the desktop version.
Here you can use your computer to take screenshots and once again, the person will not know.