Globe Icon


and support
LGBT+ journalism

Current Affairs

The PinkNews Awards winners and nominees in full

Joe Williams October 22, 2015
bookmarking iconBookmark Article

The third annual PinkNews Awards took place last night at the Foreign and Commonwealth Office, with a number of politicians and LGBT groups honoured for their equality work.

Below are the full list of winners, nominees and presents of the awards.

Member of The Year (Presented by Karin Cook of Lloyds Banking Group)

Winners: Maria Miller & Ruth Davidson


Michael Fabricant
Caroline Lucas
Geraint Davies
Nick Herbert
Jo Swinson
Mike Freer

Peer of The Year (Presented by Tim Farron)

Winner: Baroness Barker



Lord Black
Michael Cashman
Lord Harries of Pentregarth
Lord Paddick
Lord Scriven

Broadcaster of the Year (Presented by Diane Abbott)

Winner: Victoria Derbyshire


Reggie Yates
Vicky Beeching
Anna Richardson
Lorraine Kelly
Iain Dale
Jeremy Kyle

Community Group of the Year (Presented by Nicky Morgan)

Winner: YesEquality, and the Irish equal marriage campaign (all organisations)


UK Lesbian and Gay Immigration Group (UKLGIG)
Switchboard (UK)
Broken Rainbow
The Rainbow Project (N.Ireland)
Changing Attitudes
Pride in London
Keshet UK

Public Sector Equality Award (Presented by Ed Vaizey)

Winner: Lt Andrew Gregory/Ministry of Defence


National LGBT Police Network
Gay Police Association Scotland

Advertising Campaign of The Year (Presented by Matthew Barzun)

Winner: Guinness “Gareth Thomas”

Hallmark “Put Your Heart to Paper”
Air BnB “#HostWithPride”
Matalan –
Calvin Klein “Raw Texts. Real Stories.”

Corporate Equality Award (Presented by Sajid Javid)

Winner: LGBT Leaders


Purple Reign/ Interlaw
Google (for Android Pride and Gaylers)
LINK (LGBT Insurance Network)
Facebook (for LGBT group and rainbow campaign)

PinkNews Ally Award (Presented by Rhona Cameron)

Winner: Alex Salmond

PinkNews Ally of the Year:

Richard Branson

Special Award (Presented by PinkNews CEO Benjamin Cohen):

Ed Miliband

Lifetime Achievement Award

Senator David Norris

Special thanks to Barefoot Wines and Smirnoff for providing the drinks for our guests. 

Also huge thanks to David Cameron, Tony Blair, Alex Salmond, Foxhall London  and the Andaz Hotel Liverpool Street for the incredible auction lots. 

And finally, a big thank you to Popchips, Timeless Truth and again to Foxhall London and our main sponsor Lloyds Banking Group for helping us fill our goody bags. 

The PinkNews Awards are generously supported by Lloyds Banking Group.

Related topics: LGBT, lloyds, PinkNews Awards, victoria derbyshire

Click to comment

Swipe sideways to view more posts!


Loading ...

Close icon