Globe Icon
Join and support LGBT+ journalism


and support
LGBT+ journalism


Pictures: Here’s everyone who won at the PinkNews awards

Nick Duffy November 2, 2014

The second annual PinkNews Awards took place in Parliament this week, hosted by the Speaker of the House of Commons John Bercow. Here’s a breakdown of all the winners.

Member of the Year – Caroline Lucas

The Green Party MP picked up the award for Member of the Year, and was praised for her work to secure inclusive sex and relationships education. She was presented the award by the Speaker, John Bercow.

Also nominated were Conservative MPs Crispin Blunt and Mike Freer, Labour MP Gloria De Piero, and Liberal Democrat Julian Huppert.

Watch the clip below:

Peer of the Year – The Rt Hon the Lord Fowler

The former Conservative Minister Norman Fowler – who served under Margaret Thatcher – was awarded Peer of the Year, for his strong gay rights advocacy. Leader of the House of Commons William Hague presented the award.

Also nominated were Baroness Barker, Lord Black, Baroness Thornton, and Lord Deben.

Award for Outstanding Achievement (Sponsored by Allen & Overy) – The Lord Cashman CBE
Michael Cashman – who served as an MEP for 15 years, and headed the European Parliament’s Intergroup on LGBT issues – recently took up a role as Labour’s LGBT envoy and was elevated to the House of Lords.

The award was presented by Labour leader Ed Miliband.

Special Award for Lifetime Achievement – Paul Cottingham

Paul Cottingham, a veteran gay rights activist who passed away last month, was honoured with a special award for his service to the community. His partner Lord Cashman picked up the award on his behalf.

Watch the moment below:

Click here for page two

Community Group of the Year (Sponsored by BNP Paribas) – Warwick Rowers and the Human Dignity Trust

The rowing club – known for their annual naked charity calendar – shared the award with the legal charity, which works to combat homophobia and anti-gay laws around the world.

Minister for Education, Women and Equalities Nicky Morgan presented the awards – but was heckled during her speech by Labour MP Ben Bradshaw.

Also nominated were New Family Social, The Scottish Equality Network, and The Kaleidoscope Trust.

Watch the clip below:

PinkNews Ally of the Year – Lynne Featherstone

The MP, who was instrumental in securing equal marriage, was presented the award by her Lib Dem colleague, Schools Minister David Laws.

Marketing Campaign of the Year – Rainbow Laces (Stonewall, Paddy Power and Gay Football Supporters Network)

The campaign to end homophobia in football, which saw rainbow coloured laces sent to every club in the country, took home the award, presented by Shadow Chancellor Ed Balls.

Also nominated were Visit Britain’s ‘Love is Great’ campaign, Google’s ‘Zeitgeist’, and Stoli’s same-sex marriage celebrations.

Employee Network of the Year (Sponsored by Epoq) – ParliOUT

The Parliamentary LGBT network ParliOUT – which supports LGBT Peers, MPs and Parliamentary staff – picked up the award from Business Secretary Vince Cable.

Other nominees included InterMedia, InterLaw, and NUT LGBT.

More clips are available on the PinkNews YouTube channel.

More: Awards, Caroline Lucas, Ed Balls, Ed Miliband, England, Gay, lesbian, London, lynne featherstone, Michael Cashman, Norman Fowler, Photos, pictures, PinkNews, vince cable, William Hague

Click to comment

Swipe sideways to view more posts!


Loading ...

Close icon