Current Affairs

US: Federal government to recognise same-sex marriages in 7 new states

Joseph McCormick October 17, 2014
bookmarking iconBookmark Article

The US federal government is set to recognise marriages between gay and lesbian couples in seven new states.

Same-sex marriages will now be recognised in Indiana, Oklahoma, Utah, Virginia, Wisconsin, Colorado and Nevada.

According to the US Justice Department, it will work to make sure the couples are afforded federal benefits soon.

Today’s announcement comes on the back of a decision by the US Supreme Court two weeks ago to allow lower courts’ rulings to stand in three appeals in which same-sex marriage bans were struck down.

Twenty-six states now have federal recognition of same-sex marriage, and the District of Columbia.

US Attorney General Eric Holder announced that the US is getting “closer to equality for LGBT Americans.”

Related topics: America, civil partnership, equal marriage, Federal, gay marriage, gay wedding, lesbian marriage, lesbian wedding, marriage, marriage ban, marriage equality, same sex marriage, Same-sex wedding, US, USA, wedding

Click to comment

Swipe sideways to view more posts!


Loading ...