Colorado, Utah, Virginia, Wisconsin, Indiana and Oklahoma all begin marrying same-sex couples

Nick Duffy October 6, 2014
bookmarking iconSAVE FOR LATER

Six states across the US have today begun issuing marriage licenses to same-sex couples, or announced their intention to do so shortly.

Earlier today, the US Supreme Court today rejected seven pending appeals in lawsuits fighting for marriage bans from across the US – which could allow same-sex weddings to begin in as many as 11 states.


The states of Utah, Oklahoma, Indiana, Virginia and Wisconsin have all conceded defeat and will introduce same-sex marriage following the decision, while Colorado’s Attorney General John Suthers also announced he would stop fighting same-sex marriage.

The legal situation varies from state to state – with some of the states marrying couples immediately, while others will do so later this week or require a notice period for all marriages.

The Supreme Court’s decision raises the number of states who recognise same-sex marriage from 19 this morning to 25 – and it is expected to rise even further through the coming week, as the ruling filters down to more states.

The decision could also lead to marriage becoming legal imminently in Wyoming, Kansas, West Virginia, North Carolina and South Carolina, while officials in other states including Florida are under increased public pressure to follow suit, and lift the stay on same-sex marriage.

More to follow.


More: civil partnership, Colorado, Couples, equal marriage, Gay, gay marriage, gay wedding, Indiana, lesbian, lesbian marriage, lesbian wedding, marriage, marriage ban, marriage equality, Oklahoma, ruling, same sex marriage, Same-sex wedding, supreme court, US, Utah, Virginia, wedding, Wisconsin

Click to comment

Swipe sideways to view more posts!


Loading ...