Current Affairs

Russia on list of approved UK consulates allowing same-sex marriages

Joseph McCormick June 26, 2014
bookmarking iconBookmark Article
Vladimir Putin

Among a list of host countries which allow same-sex marriage ceremonies to take place in British consulates is Russia, despite an anti-gay law passed last year.

Russia passed a law banning the promotion of “non-traditional sexual relations” to minors last June.

Being on the list of authorised consulates means Russia has approved the practice to take place.

Same sex marriages are now able to take place at British Consulates in Australia, Azerbaijan, Bolivia, Cambodia, Chile, China, Colombia, Costa Rica, Dominican Republic, Estonia, Hungary, Japan, Kosovo, Latvia, Lithuania, Mongolia, Montenegro, Nicaragua, Peru, Philippines, Russia, San Marino, Serbia, and Vietnam.

Couples in civil partnerships will also from 10 December be able to convert to marriage at British consulates.

Couples need to be resident in the Consular District where they wish the conversion to take place for a period of 28 days before we are able to convert.

On Friday the first ever same-sex marriage in a British consulate will take place in Sydney, Australia.

Click to comment

Swipe sideways to view more posts!


Loading ...