Current Affairs

US: Kansas counties inconsistent in same-sex divorce record

Joseph McCormick June 16, 2014
bookmarking iconBookmark Article

Same-sex couples who wish to divorce, are finding inconsistencies in Kansas counties, with one allowing divorces, and others refusing to do so.

According to the Lawrence Journal World, Douglas county is the only Kansas county which has issued divorces to same-sex couples.

Other counties, such as Shawnee and Johnson, have granted annulments, and many have simply refused to process the divorce, dismissing the petitions.

Many Kansas same-sex couples marry in the state of Iowa, where same-sex couples are able to marry, but must live there for at least a year before they are able to divorce.

According to one attorney, only three same-sex couples had been able to divorce so far in Kansas, and they all did so in Douglas county.

Related topics: Civil partnerships, divorce, equal marriage, gay marriage, gay wedding, lesbian marriage, lesbian wedding, marriage, marriage equality, same sex marriage, Same-sex wedding, US, wedding

Click to comment

Swipe sideways to view more posts!


Loading ...