Facebook, Grey’s Anatomy honoured at the final leg of GLAAD media awards

Edmund Broch June 3, 2012
bookmarking iconSAVE FOR LATER

The social networking website Facebook, the TV series Grey’s Anatomy, and the website Huffington Post were among those honoured at the final leg of the 23rd annual Gay and Lesbian Alliance Against Defamation (GLAAD) Media Awards.

The ceremony was held in San Francisco, and hosted by Dianna Agron, best known for playing Quinn Fabray in the TV series, Glee.

Facebook won the special recognition award for its role in LGBT rights, while Grey’s Anatomy and the daily soap, Days of Our Lives, both won for TV drama series. The medical show’s creator, Shonda Rhimes, also picked up the Golden Gate Award.

Max J Rosenthal of the Huffington Post won for best in digital journalism, while Wells Fargo picked up a trophy for corporate leadership.

The awards, which celebrate fair, accurate and inclusive representation of LGBT people in media, occur in three stages, the first two ceremonies held in New York and Los Angeles earlier in the year.

More: Facebook, glaad media awards, Grey's Anatomy, Huffington Post, US

Click to comment

Swipe sideways to view more posts!


Loading ...