Current Affairs

European law not required to grant marriage rights to same-sex couples, court rules

Christopher Brocklebank June 25, 2010
bookmarking iconSAVE FOR LATER

The European Court of Human Rights in Strasbourg has ruled that under European law, the 47 member states have no legal obligation to grant same-sex couples the right to marry.

The court came up against the issue when two Austrian men who said their country’s refusal to allow same-sex marriage violated their right to marry and the prohibition of discrimination in European rights law. As reported in the Irish Times, the ECHR said in a statement that, “The court observed that, among Council of Europe member states, there is no consensus regarding same-sex marriage.

“The court has underlined that national authorities were best placed to assess and respond to the needs of society in this field, given that marriage had deep-rooted social and cultural connotations differing largely from one society to another.”

The court also added that despite its ruling, same-sex couples could claim a right to a family life just as heterosexual couples do, but that this still “did not impose an obligation on states to grant same-sex couples access to marriage”.

So far, only seven of the 47 member states of the European Council – of which the ECHR is part – have approved gay marriage: Belgium, Iceland, the Netherlands, Norway, Spain, Portugal and Sweden.

More: Belgium, Europe, european court of human rights, gay marriage, Iceland, Netherlands, Norway, Portugal, same sex marriage, Spain, Sweden

Click to comment

Swipe sideways to view more posts!


Loading ...