Current Affairs

BNP wins London Assembly seat, joining a handful of openly gay members

PinkNews Staff Writer May 3, 2008
bookmarking iconSAVE FOR LATER

The far right British National Party has won a seat on the London Assembly. Their mayoral candidate Richard Barnbrook received 69,710 votes in the Mayoral election.

He will join a handful of openly gay London Assembly members.

BNP spokesman Simon Darby told the Press Association: “I feel absolutely ecstatic.

“We’ve witnessed the first major politician elected not for telling lies but for telling the truth.”

Mr Barnbrook who directed a gay erotic film in his youth was elected alongside a number of other London “list” assembly members.

He joins gay Conservative former Hackney councillor Andrew Boff , Victoria Borwick, Gareth Bacon. Labour former Deputy Mayor Nicky Gavron, Murad Qureshi. Liberal Democrat Mike Tuffrey, Dee Doocey, Caroline Pidgeon and gay Green Darren Johnson.

The gay Conservative Brian Coleman was re-elected to the Barnet & Camden constituency.

He will join James Cleverly in Bexley & Bromley, Richard Barnes in Ealing & Hillingdon, Richard Tracey in Merton & Wandsworth, Steve O’Connell in Croydon & Sutton, Tony Arbour in South West, Kit Malthouse in West Central and Roger Evans in Havering & Redbridge.

Labour Navin Shah won Brent & Harrow, John Biggs won City & East, Jeanette Arnold won North East, Val Shawcross won Lambeth & Southwark, Joanne McCartney won Enfield & Haringey and Len Duvall won Greenwich & Lewisham.

More: Mayoral Election

Click to comment

Swipe sideways to view more posts!


Loading ...