GLAAD nominees include Grey’s Anatomy

PinkNews Staff Writer January 22, 2007
bookmarking iconSAVE FOR LATER

The Gay and Lesbian Alliance Against Defamation has revealed which films and TV shows have been nominated in their 18th Annual Media Awards.

Among the expected nominations for The L Word is a nod for a show that in recent weeks has become more notorious for the F word.

ABC hit show Grey’s Anatomy has been nominated in the category of Outstanding Individual Episode (in a series without a gay character).

Until very recently Grey’s did not even have a gay actor, but an on-set argument in which the word ‘faggot’ was used forced star TR Knight to reveal that he is gay.

Co-star Isaiah Washington has publicly apologised for using the word during the argument and repeating it in front of the press at the Golden Globe awards ceremony earlier this month.

The L Word, a glossy drama about the lives and loves of Los Angeles lesbians, has been nominated in the Outstanding Drama Series category.

British film The History Boys has been nominated for Outstanding Film – Limited Release.

The over-the-top performance of British actor Sacha Baron-Cohen may have helped propel the box office smash Talladega Nights: The Ballad of Ricky Bobby into the Outstanding Film – Wide Release Category alongside London-set fantasy V for Vendetta.

Little Miss Sunshine, The Night Listener, Imagine Me You, Quinceañera, Shortbus, Summer Storm and Running With Scissors are also nominated.

As well as visual media, there are awards in newspaper, magazine, multi-media, comic book, music, advertising and theatre categories.

Perhaps the most eye-catching category is Outstanding Talk Show Episode.

Montel Williams and Tyra Banks get two nominations, while veteran Oprah Winfrey bags one nod for an episode of her show entitled, “Wives Confess They are Gay.”

Tennis legend and campaigner for gay equality Martina Navratilova, designer Tom Ford and singer Patti LaBelle will all receive special awards for contributions to the LGBT community.

The GLAAD Media Awards ceremonies will be held in New York on March 26, 2007 at the Marriott Marquis; in Los Angeles on April 14 at the Kodak Theatre; in San Francisco on April 28 at the Westin St. Francis; and in South Florida on May 10 at the JW Marriott Miami.

For the third consecutive year, the awards will be televised on Logo, MTV Networks’ cable channel for lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender viewers.

Click to comment

Swipe sideways to view more posts!


Loading ...