The Pet Shop Boys confirmed yesterday that their new album ‘Super’ will be released on April 1 this year.

The synthpop duo – known for gay anthems such as ‘West End Girls’, ‘What Have I Done to Deserve This?’ and ‘Go West’ – also excited fans with the announcement of four UK concerts at the Royal Opera House in July.

This is their 13th studio album, with fans eagerly awaiting a follow-up since 2013’s Electric’. The new album sees the pair reunite with ‘Electric’ producer Stuart Price, who has excellent gay pedigree as the producer of Madonna’s ‘Confessions on a Dance Floor’.

The duo – made up of Neil Tennant and Chris Lowe – are launching the album with the single ‘Pop Kids’ which tells the story of Tennant’s clubbing friends:

“It’s about a friend of mine who moved from Birmingham to go to King’s College in London to study History and he made friends with a girl there,” Tennant says.

“They both loved pop music and they used to go clubbing all the time and because of that they were known as the pop kids. I remember him telling me this and at one point I just wrote down the title ‘The Pop Kids’ because I thought it sounded like a good song title.”

The Pet Shop Boys have often been at the forefront of gay culture, more recently arguing that gay rights is no longer party political and pushing for Stonewall to campaign for the government to pardon men convicted of gross indecency.

The album can be preordered now, with more details available on the ‘Super’ website. The with the track listing as follows:

1. Happiness
2. The Pop Kids
3. Twenty-Something
4. Groovy
5. The Dictator Decides
6. Pazzo!
7. Inner Sanctum
8. Undertow
9. Sad Robot World
10. Say It To Me
11. Burn
12. Into Thin Air